24, Thailand and Anti-Smoking

“I was a little late this weekend updating my blog; various assignments, sickness and then my sister-in-law and my birthday on the same weekend.
I turned 24 on Sunday, at the moment I am still happy turning a year older [this will likely change in proportion to the number of wrinkles that appear].”

The featured Friday Ad rehash I have chosen is a Thai anti-smoking ad I came across late last week. Early that day, I was at work monitoring the venue on the cameras, when I noticed an employee smoking at the entrance.
Although I work in a bar [at present] this is not a strange sight. However, we are a formal bar and this kind of behaviour is in appropriate in front of the patrons, we do not want to appear too casual.
I forgave the worker as it was pouring with rain and this was the only semi-covered area. He is only 18 and I have watched him grow as a glassy when he was underage well into his first year of adulthood. I felt somewhat bad knowing his parents come into the bar and knowing them by name. He still lives with them and they would be upset to know he smokes.
Australian laws allow their citizens legally to purchase and smoke a cigarette in Australia at 18, however the perception of under-age smoking is negative and illegal. The simple difference one day makes when you turn 18 is rather odd.
I had another experience happen to me only a few weeks ago. Two underage teenagers approached me at the gas [petrol] station to buy them smokes. I said I wouldn’t as I don’t condone illegal activity and informed the attendant inside.
The Youtube link I have attached is an anti-smoking advert that was used in Thailand a few years back. I think it was rather effective in the message it sends.
In the video the strangers [smokers] explain to the kids the negative effects of smoking, after they ask for a light. The children respond with a slap in the face pay it forward letter asking why they do themselves. In the video these adults throw away their current cigarette.
The message was clear through a simple bidirectional flow of communication between adult and child.
Recent Australian anti-smoking campaigns have explored from the initial to the long term, the benefits of quitting. The Australian adverts highlight that one cigarette takes between 5 to 20 minutes off your life.
Using the Australian advert highlight as a basis the Thai anti-smoking ad, began achieving success while the advert was still in creation.
The advert was so successful because it employed emotional marketing, triggering healthy ideologies within the participants.
Ogilvy Thailand, whom produced the advert, achieved two things; success by reach and objectives.
On behalf of the Thai Health Foundation, after the release of the advert the foundation found an increase of 40 percent in the number of calls it received in Thailand about quitting.
Ethically driven campaigns seem to do well overseas. It would be interesting to see this re-filmed in Western societies and distributed not only on traditional media outlets and digitally but in schools and universities as well. Currently the university I attend does not allow smoking anywhere ANYWHERE on campus.
I rate the campaign a 9/10

Leave a Reply

